• This topic has 14 replies, 13 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by Shred.
Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Santa cruz tall boy?
  • turbo1397
    Free Member

I’ve been deliberating over the above for a while. I had fancied a 5010.. but I’ve got the chance of a carbon tallboy with great spec at a really good price. I’ve been on one so know the sizing. But never ‘really’ ridden one. Are they that good?

devs
    Free Member

I had the original and the LTc. If I could I’d have one of each 🙂

tom.nash

I loved a blast on a Tallboy but needed an XL to get the fit right (Im 6ft and ride L in any other brand). Now getting a new 5010 with the longer top tube so going to a large. It might be a great price but a) check the sizing and b) if it’s too good to be true then it probably is…

boxelder

I got a similar SH deal. Great, fast XC bikes. Not the stiffest, though light and capable.

gfrew88
    Free Member

I’ve been riding a LTC carbon for the last 6 months and its the best bike I’ve ever owned.
    amazing for big days out and very capable of hammering enduro and alpine descents

hodge100
    Free Member

I own a 2016 Tall boy c XL, I am 6 foot 1″ and it’s spot on. I’ve put a 70mm Thompson stem on and Santa Cruz Carbon bars and a Thompson dropper post I have Stans flow with hope hubs and run conti mountain King tyres. It’s a brilliant bike now I’ve got it dialled in. My local trails are the Lake District and it handles anything you put in its way. Buy it!

paulevans
    Free Member

I had TBc in large. I’m 6″ and it was great, until I tried the LTc. Sold the TB and have been riding the LTC now for a couple of years. Great great bike. Live and ride in the Lake District and it never misses a beat.

LTc is now longer showing on SC website – I wouldn’t be surprised to see it relaunched at some point as a 27.5+ or 29+.

davidtaylforth
    Free Member

Get a Pyga or a Transition; far better bikes for less money no doubt.

turbo1397
    Free Member