Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Running Linux on an old laptop
  • unknown
    Free Member

I’ve heard that running Linux is a good way to keep an old laptop functional. I’ve got a basic c. 5 year old HP laptop that I’d like to use for web browsing and/or storage but I’m a techy novice. Can anyone advise me if it’s worth attempting and/or point me to a basic how to guide?

unknown
    Free Member

Aggrhhh, bike forum. Told you I was a novice!

Olly
    Free Member

YO! Do it.
    Ubuntu is by far the most common (and therefore easiest to get on with for a non techy).
    you will need access to a working computer (slow is fine) to install it.
    Make a bootable USB stick, or burn it to DVD. (bootable stick is easiest by far if you are not keeping windows on a secondary partition)

http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop

everything you need is here. Its prettier than Mac, and more reliable than windows.

tomhughes46

The Ubuntu forums/site is pretty good and useful

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop

You can run it off a CD/USB drive to ‘try before you buy (install for real)’

I prefer getting LTS versions, but the latest works ok on my Netbook.

Conqueror
    Free Member

Definitely do it.

For a lightweight linux OS, it might be worth looking at Xubuntu and Crunch Bang. Xubuntu is the same as Ubuntu but it uses XFCE desktop instead of Unity. It is a less demanding desktop environment to run.

Home

http://crunchbang.org/

Xubuntu probably an easier starting point.

Olly
    Free Member

and if you have enough space on your laptop, i would also suggest keeping windows on board. It can split your hard drive into partitions for you. Get it to shove windows over to the minimum possible and install ubuntu on the rest. That way, if you hate it you can take ubuntu off, and re expand your windows installation. You could also then install it using the windows isntaller (wubi)

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/install-ubuntu-with-windows