Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Running (again)
  • thegreatape
    Free Member

I started running again almost a year ago. Got up to doing about an hour, at a steady pace, fairly regularly, and suffered no ill effects from this.

When I started training for a half marathon, once a week I had a longer run – 8/9/10 miles and so on. Without fail I would start getting problems once I’d run beyond the hour – calves and ankles really tightening up. Once that’s happened I can’t find any way back and, basically, just hobble along. Then I have achilles pain for ages afterwards.

Here are my split times from a half marathon I did yesterday.

5k – 00:34
    10k – 1:10
    15k – 1:50
    Finish – 2:43

I appreciate, it’s a fairly sedate pace from the start, but I would have been happy enough with something around 2:15-2:20ish. It’s fairly consistent up to 10k, then slows up a touch, then really slow for the last 5K.

The really frustrating thing is that from a CV point of view I’m hardly blowing at all, it’s just that my legs seize up.

Suggestions as to why this is happening?

I’m quite heavy (115kg) and run on my forefoot, if either of those might be contributing (thinking of the work my calves are having to do?)

cynic-al
    Free Member

You are stretching after runs?

thegreatape
    Free Member

Yes

glupton1976
    Free Member

Yes – your legs aren’t up to the task at this point in time.

I predict that this thread will bring up the following responses:

Go barefoot – that’s a daft idea as you’ll get loads of injuries before you see any potential gains,

Adopt a forefoot running style – that’s a daft idea as you’ll get loads of injuries before you see any potential gains.