Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 102 total)
  • Roady etiquette question
  • tomkerton
    Free Member

I’m new to road riding, have riden In a small group of 4 once otherwise I ride alone. Been riding a road bike since September.

So I was tootling along on the flat today, riding by myself, doing around 20mph. Another dude joined the road a bit behind me from a slip road and pulled up behind me very close. I looked round and said Hi and he didn’t say anything back.

After maybe a mile of this, sat inches from my back wheel he pulled out and started to overtake. A teensy pissed off at his rudeness I accelerated too. He shouted “what the f*** are you doing?” So I smiled and did my best Cav impression and pushed to the junction about a mile and a half away. We did a bit of elbow to elbow and he eventually dropped back then turned at the junction when I went straight on.

So what did I do wrong? Is it normal in road riding for a stranger to drop behind you for a ‘lift’ for a mile. I know it was a bit stubborn to accelerate when he came past but he had been rude too IMO.

I beat him so that’s all that really matters right?

robdob
    Free Member

I think that may be the point, unless you know you’re going to win the sprint don’t go for it!

scott_mcavennie2
    Free Member

troll?

Rickos
    Free Member

Was he not overtaking to take his turn on the front?

DT78
    Free Member

He might have been looking to take his turn at the front and return the favour of the tow and you decided to race him….

Rickos
    Free Member

Double post

globalti
    Free Member

He should have asked if you minded him sitting on for a while. But yes, maybe he was going to take his turn on the front.

aa
    Free Member

crikey
    Free Member

I’m new to road riding

Yes, yes you are.