Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • roadie advice wanted (no TdF content!)
  • 2tyred

I'm new to road riding – been doing it about a year now – and am at the stage of starting to do a couple of sportives. I've two kids under 5 and live next to hills with good quiet roads, so probably do slightly more road riding than mtb at the moment as its easier to fit in. I usually go out on my own as I'm quicker than almost all the guys I would ride with, but I'm finding I've hit a bit of a plateau.

My normal evening route is just over 30 miles with 2 sizeable climbs (on bikehike it shows as 2400ft of climbing) and I'm averaging 18.5 to 19mph each time, regardless of wind. Trouble is while I'm riding solo I'm always thinking I should be going faster, but when I get home I'm barely out of breath. I commute 20 miles every day on a fixed gear, so I'm not short of weekly miles.

I'm not sure how to push myself on a bit without nailing myself to the wall. Generally I'm riding in the evenings within an hour of eating my dinner, and when I get back I'm not starving the way I am after a big ride. I don't get indigestion or bonk, and drink some water so don't think food and drink is the key.

I think I could do with joining a club, but fear I'll struggle to make a regular time while the kids are age they are. I've recently adjusted my saddle position to try and make a more 'aero' position easier and its been more comfortable overall, but not noticeably quicker (maybe I'm judging it over too short a distance). I naturally want to push a big gear (my fixed is 48:16) so I've been trying to use a lower gear and up my cadence a bit, and focus on 'circles' rather than pushing, but it doesn't feel… natural.

Have any of the STW darksiders been here? What do you recommend?

brakes
    Free Member

to get quicker you need to throw some money at the bike
    it's all about the bike

epo-aholic
    Free Member