Viewing 36 posts - 1 through 36 (of 36 total)
  • Road bike for a total novice. What should I be looking at? (3-400 quid 2nd hand)
  • kudos100
    Free Member

I know nothing about road bikes. Now my back is knackered I am considering getting one for fitness training, as I can no longer ride hardtails off-road.

I’d be looking at spending 3-400 quid on something, but have no clue what I can get, or should be looking at for that sort money.

Any advice on buying a road bike for a total novice?

mikewsmith
    Free Member

I picked up a C2W bargain that had done about 100 miles in 18 months…. worth looking for.

Something that fits is top of the list especially if you already have back issues. Some advice from someone on fit is really useful and throwing a leg over some mates bikes to get an idea will help.

TiRed

Used Giant Defy sized to suit. Slightly longer head tube means you can be more upright, but the handling is still proper road bike.

Alloy frame and Tiagra or 105 groupset are in your budget.

spud-face

I’m in similar position (not really, I just want a new shiny thing and know dick-all about road bikes), and have been looking around a lot lately. Remembering that I know the aforementioned dick-all about roadbikes, Merlin seem to have several decent ones in that price range (Be-one, Felt, own-brand) thanks to their sales that tempt me just for the fact that the ebay staples of spesh allez etc don’t seem to go for much less 2nd hand.

I recall seeing something on here recently about the difference between road bikes built to a Race geometry and those designed with the more casual rider in mind. Not sure whether there’s any hard and fast way to tell them apart at a glance, but seems a variable worth bearing in mind especial with a gammy back in the mix.

whatnobeer
    Free Member