• This topic has 12 replies, 10 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by Simon.
Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Reverb or Thomson Dropper
  • teamslug
    Free Member

Interested in what the STW massive think….I had decided on a Thomson dropper on the basis that the engineering, reputation etc would make for a more reliable product but bumped into an old riding pal on the trail on Sunday who’s riding group have had quite a few problems with them. I know that a lot of you seem to rate the reverb so what do you think?. Price is certainly in its favour… Cheers

andyl
    Free Member

Surely based on reputation you would have to go Rockshox? They have a huge amount of suspension parts out there and a pretty good, IMO, rack record. Thomson have been making static seat posts and stems for a while.

Yes they also do aerospace and automation components but I have no experience of those so I couldn’t tell you if they have a good reputation in that market.

I’ve got a reverb and it’s been great. I don’t like the price of spare parts so worry if something goes wrong but in use I can’t fault it.

Northwind

I’d have a Lev if I was doing it again, my Reverb’s been reliable (though it has excessive play now and it’s not that old) but I really dislike the lever- impossible to get it where I want it, but even if I could it’d still stick out too far. I’ve not broken it yet but when I do I’m going to hunt down and murder the designer.

honourablegeorge

Is your Reverb lever a right hand lever under th ebar on the left? If not, it’s wrong.

Lev lever is utterly useless, although the Southpaw one looks like the solution

andyl
    Free Member

yes the lever is a PITA. I had forgotten about that. Took me ages to get a set up I liked and that involved making some new mounts for my shimano shifters.

Northwind

honourablegeorge – Member

Is your Reverb lever a right hand lever under th ebar on the left?