Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Replacing a broken spoke – how easy?
  • thegreatape
    Free Member

I do most bike maintenance myself, including servicing forks, replacing bearings etc. The only thing I’ve never done before is build a wheel. I need to replace one broken spoke on my wife’s bike. Is this a job the competent home mechanic can do, or is it a right pain in the arse?

Rorschach
    Free Member

If it’s hurting your arse….your(sic) doing it wrong HtH.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Wheel off, tyre off maybe rotor and cassette too then rim tape depending on the tape. If you can unscrew then you can reuse the nipple and just replace it. If it’s other out of true simple enough.

neilsonwheels
    Free Member

Should be a doddle, should.! just find the right length spoke and replace. You should be able to re true it just by tightening the spoke back up and pulling the rim straight. If it’s the rear then you may have to remove the disk and or cassette.

However more importantly why did the spoke break.? Check the tension of the other spokes around it and make sure the rim isn’t bent too far and therefore causing too much stress in the spoke when the rim is true.
    If the rim has had a hard life then you can get away with 4mm of deflection in the rim if it’s a disk without worrying too much.

jekkyl

ime once one spoke breaks you will find others will follow in the next 6 months (if the bike is ridden regularly) Replacing spokes and truing up is one job I always leave to the LBS and most I deal with do this job for a tenner or 15 quid. If the wheel is still true, tape the broken spoke to another and wait until another one pops?

thegreatape
    Free Member

Hmm….no idea why, but she’s not heavy and not a particularly aggressive rider. It is currently taped to another and she’s ridden it a couple of times like that.

rocketman
    Free Member