Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Relocation Relocation Relo…oh bum, what to do?
  • andyl
    Free Member

Sorry for the long post…just venting and hoping I might see a sensible decision when writing it down….

So we live right on the Mendips, I love it. I’ve not ridden for 3 months (broken wrist) so maybe I am being too sentimental but I love being able to ride from my door any time I want.

I work from home a lot but need to work up in Bristol by the Uni 2x pw, and should go to the NE of Bristol much more than I do now but don’t as it’s a pain to get to (45-60 minutes of traffic). I’ve been doing the current commute for 3 years now and am fed up spending 30-50 minutes each way stuck in traffic.

OH has a new part time job over in Melksham and does other locum work in Bath. Her days are normally consecutive with night on call so she stays over but she is getting a lot of extra work, which is great, but not from a seeing each other point of view and I worry about the driving, especially as winter is drawing in.

It is time to move anwyway for various reasons. We have a dog and cat to think about (and sheep) and I need somewhere with a garage or large wooden shed to turn into a workshop.

1. A really nice remote place up near Bristol. Very secluded, no neighbours at all, would need to build a wooden shed and somehow get power to it etc but it would be mine to do as I wish. OH really likes it and could feel at home there. Cuts my commute down to <10 miles, OH would still have 1hr+ to drive. Easy 8 mile drive back to where I ride. Very safe for cat and dog.

2. Head east of the mendips, cuts my commute a little and makes my NE bristol a lot easier. Only cuts the OHs commute to 45 minutes (but Bath commute to 20 minutes). Lovely house with new double garage, 10-25 minute drive to get to any riding. Cat might get run over…