Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Redundancy
  • Sundayjumper

Looks like it’s my turn. I am on notice to be made redundant at the end of the month.

I’m not upset though. I was getting pretty bored of the job and after ten years’ service with the company although the payoff won’t be huge it’ll be useful. Enough to keep me afloat six or nine months before I need a job. So that’s a nice buffer. No need for any Facebook-esque “omg u ok hun xxx” comments !

So what shall I do ? I don’t really fancy being a Cost Engineer any longer. Anyone got any inspiring tales of reinventing themselves and being all the better for it ? The only thing that I think I’d actually enjoy is being a bike mechanic but it’s 20 years since I worked in a shop and I suspect it’s firmly minimum wage territory. It might be fun for a bit but I couldn’t do that long term.

Otherwise I’m a bit of an Excel geek, very logical and a bit particular, but ultimately found I cared more about my spreadsheet than what the spreadsheet meant. The project is £50k overspent this month ? Meh, not my fault. Spreadsheet total is a penny off ? I’ll spend the afternoon finding out why.

I need a job where I actually care about the outcome.

FWIW I have a wife & a young child, so pi$$ing off and spending the rest of the year on a solo world tour of awesome riding locations is sadly not an option 🙁

I’m currently on gardening leave and spending my time catching up with jobs on the cars, doing DIY around the house, and cooking. It’s all very pleasant tbh, this must be what it’s like to be retired !

jon1973
    Free Member

Can you contract? give yourself some breathing space and flexibility.

Northwind