Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Recommendations for general purpose/xc bike around £500?
  • robnorthcott
    Free Member

My wife’s mountain bike is due to be converted to a road touring machine (long story – kiddy cranks on our tandem for our daughter, so she needs a solo bike when we go touring, become a PITA converting it each time, shagged forks, seems like a good idea to get a new MTB and leave the old one in permanent road form with rigid forks).

Anyway, so we’re in the market for a replacement. Her old bike is an 18″ Kona Hahana aluminium frame, more than a decade old, mixture of bits from STX-RC to XT, Rock Shox Judy fork, you get the idea. Probably looking for another HT, for general trail riding (quite rocky but nothing too knarly, more xc style).

I’m a bit out of touch with the mountain bike market at the moment (I’ve been riding unicycles off-road for a few years), so what’s best value now around the £500 mark? That budget is fairly flexible – mostly picked it to avoid insurance hassle. Obvious big brands like Giant, Trek and Kona? I’m not against self-build or second-hand either.

Any opinions appreciated…

Rob

marsandback
    Free Member

Carrera Fury is good value for money IMO. And you can pick them up from Halfords in a box.
    http://www.halfords.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_10001_catalogId_10151_productId_518247_langId_-1_categoryId_165499

grantus
    Free Member

yup – nowt to touch it at that price

uplink
    Free Member
    robnorthcott
    Free Member