Viewing 34 posts - 1 through 34 (of 34 total)
  • Recommend me a messenger/laptop bag
  • tandemwarriors

Have just changed jobs and will be soon doing the 5 mile commute by bike.
    Need to carry laptop/folder/sandwiches. Used to carry books etc to and from uni in a rucksack but found it a bit sweaty. Not used the messenger style bag before but they look more comfortable, are they?

Thanks,
    Rob

spacemonkey

Do a forum search as this has come up before.

Maybe check out the Crumpler range although I’m not sure if they do anything hard enough for the worst that winter can throw at you. I love my Cheesy Disco BTW, but wouldn’t spoil it i bad weather.

woodlikesbeer
    Free Member

I’ve been using a Dakine messenger bag for 4 years now. I bought it to avoid the sweaty back which it does. I’m looking at getting a new one I fancy a change. Dakine

All our roller luggage is Dakine and it’s still going strong, even with my wife working offshore for three years. I recommend them.

mrmo
    Free Member

timbuk2 custom, could be 12years old i am not sure anymore! it just keeps on going. Been used as flight hand luggage, bike commuting, shopping etc..

twotonpredator

timbuk2 classic messenger. i got one about a month or so ago. best thing ever. fact.

theflatboy
    Free Member

as an alternative to a rucksack, messenger style bags are no more confortable or less sweaty in my experience. they just mean you can access what’s in them a bit more easily and they are a bit more flexible in fitting bulkier stuff in them.

for true sweatless comfort panniers are far preferable to both.

Teetosugars
    Free Member
    xc-steve
    Free Member
    vrapan
    Free Member

Bit more expensive but I really like my Ethnotek messenger bag. It is not very deep but will feet a 13″ laptop easy has internal padded case for laptop+ tablet, more pockets and compartments you can shake a stick at and it sits very comfortably and securely on the shoulder while cycling to work.