Viewing 27 posts - 1 through 27 (of 27 total)
  • Recommend me a decent (cheap) coffee maker
  • Ifrider
    Free Member

The in-laws have offered to buy us one of those "pod type" coffee makers for Xmas.
    Any in particular to look out for, pod types better than others etc ? I see Argos are doing a good deal on the Dolce Gusto, this any good ??? Ta

damitamit
    Free Member

An Aeropress and a grinder?

http://www.aerobie.com/Products/aeropress.htm

FuzzyWuzzy

Haven't used my Dolce Gusto in months, just too much faff and most of the drinks consist of using 2 different pods with varying amounts of water through each so unless you use the cups it comes with then there's a bit of guess work involved in how much you fill the mug for each pod. I'm no coffee expert (I get my fix from instant while in the office) but the stuff it produced tasted OK to me (although it's certainly different tasting to the stuff at coffee places).

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    surfer
    Free Member

I have a Gaggia Classic which I love, cost £150 off E:bay and I think they are around £250 or more new.
    Makes great coffee.

Had coffee from a Dolce Gusta and it also tastes suprisingly good (expresso) however the purists will be along in a minute to tell you it tastes awful.

andyfla
    Free Member

yup, pods taste awful, burr grinder and a gaggia classic is what you need

mrmichaelwright
    Free Member

eXpresso

:shakes head:

CaptainFlashheart
    Free Member

Cafetiere and a kettle.

Buy your own blend of coffee to tast from your local Italian/French/Whatever deli/coffee shop.

WorldClassAccident
    Free Member

I had a pod one for Christmas a couple of years back. Coffee is okay. Just a faff buying the pods and making coffee one cup at a time. I normally drink 1 750ml Cafetiere in the morning and another around lunch time and during the afternoon.