Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Recommend a first race to a newbie!
  • coolbeanz
    Free Member

So, I’ve been riding bikes for many years, but I’ve never taken the opportunity to race and I’d like to give it a shot for what it’s worth.

I thought about competing in some enduros, but I’d rather do something which is a little more all-round, as I’d probably regard climbing as a relative strength of mine. However, I’d like to avoid full-on lycra-clad XC racing, instead opting for something a little more fun and technical. In essence, I’m looking for a race that resembles your everyday trail riding.

Happy to ride distances of 20-50km.

I live in the London area, so would prefer events within 3-4 hours’ drive max, i.e. not Scotland, but would happily stretch it as far as Wales or the Peak District.

deadkenny
    Free Member

Well, you’ll get the full on lycra types but also plenty more in it for the fun, many with baggies, if you did some of the Gorrick stuff. Roughly around Farnborough / Aldershot / Swinley sort of area usually. Venues vary.

They do different kinds of races, but depends where they are as to what you get. Some seem to feature a fair bit of riding round a field for a bit (Minley) which is not my thing at all, others are the kind of every day trails I ride in that area and can have some technical bits, e.g. around Tunnel Hill.

Though it’s not going to be like technical “gnar” trail stuff around Surrey Hills (my regular haunt). Gorrick is really XC stuff, but XC varies a lot in definition.

Maybe Enduro stuff is what you want to look at. Though smacks of weekend warrior racing for wannabe downhillers on trail / AM bikes.

(p.s. don’t confuse Gorrick ‘Enduro’ races with Enduro, as I did. Turns out Gorrick Enduro means XC Endurance. Different thing entirely).