Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Rca extension cables
  • shorn
    Free Member

The collective wisdom of Singletrack can hopefully help me out.
    I have bought 5m rca extension cables for my very old Kenwood p26 turntable amd plugged them into my equally old kenwood a45 amp. I now get a continuous buzz when the turntable is playing and if I turn the volume up I get a sound which is a bit like feedback.
    I have tested the extension cables with another input and they work fine.
    There is no earth on the turntable.
    I have kept the ac leads and rca seperate.
    When the extension cables are plugged in the phono input on the amp without being connected to the turntable they buzz/hum.

Can anyone help?

winston_dog
    Free Member

There is no earth on the turntable.

I’m no expert but I think earthing might help.

Is there no where you can rig a earth to part of the turntable?

bokonon
    Free Member

The sound like feedback is feedback – it’s the disc and the needle vibrating in sympathy with the speaker output and feeding back – this is why record players are often placed on heavy non-vibrating surfaces (I used to carry round 2 paving slabs to solve the issue at free parties)

Are they plugged into a proper phono input? there is a filtering and pre-amp process needed for vinyl.

I think you probably do need an earth, is there a little screw in doodad on the back of the turntable which will take a spade connector?

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    shorn
    Free Member

is there a little screw in doodad on the back of the turntable which will take a spade connector?

No there isn’t an earth connection on the turntable and there isn’t one even in the plug.

Are they plugged into a proper phono input?

Yes.

There is a screw above the phono input on the amp which I think is something to do with earthing??

RopeyReignRider
    Free Member