Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Raspberry Pi power supply question
  • derek_starship
    Free Member

Can I use an Apple USB power adaptor @ 5.1V output or is the 0.1V extra a tad risky?

Ta

jmason
    Free Member

I imagine that the apple psu has much higher AH, those things charge a phone 10x faster than USB. Not sure the PI is designed to handle that

spooky_b329

Ah is ‘sucked’ by the device on charge, so as long as the Ah exceeds what the Pi needs you will be fine.

Voltage is ‘pushed’ and this is the one to be careful with. I can’t see that + 0.1v will be an issue…but I’m no expert 🙂

The important thing to check is the polarity…some devices have the centre tip positive, others will have the sleeve as positive. Be careful 🙂

Edit: But then we are talking USB here I presume, so the polarity is not an issue, also I would have thought 5.1v is within the standard as I’m sure most people (like me) mix and match all their 240v – USB plugs and leads, and I’ve never had an issue.

P.S 1Ah = 1000mA. A quick Google says the Pi needs 500mA or 700mA depending on the model you have.

andytherocketeer

Would have assumed it’s fine if it’s 1000mA microUSB.

I use my HTC microUSB charger just fine.

derek_starship
    Free Member

Looking at the very small print on the adaptor it’s output is 5.1V 2100mA.

I think I only need to be concerned about over voltage. If there’s a +/- 10% variance the Pi could get as much as 5.2ishV.

andytherocketeer

I think the .1 is unlikely to be a problem.

Voltage regulators on mine are SE8117T33/18 5V to 3.3V/1.8V regulators, for which the data sheet claims a maximum of 9V input supply voltage.

stuey
    Free Member

As others have said a good regulated 5.1V won’t hurt – its my the ‘feeble 700mA’ phone charger that hangs mine – but only with some builds and two USB ports being used at the same time.