Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Rapha science.
  • imnotverygood

Just came across this from Cylclist magazine. In the context of wearing a base layer when it is hot.

From Graham Raeburn lead designer, Rapha.

” Sweat accumulating on your skin needs to be removed-by wicking- to help keep you comfortable and regulate body temperature ….. Wicking sweat and therefore taking heat away from the body to keep the wearer cool and dry.”

Now I’m no expert, but I rather thought the purpose of sweat was to cool the body by evaporation, that is why evolution blessed us with it. Doesn’t sell extra expensive base layers , of course.

Solo
    Free Member

Now I’m no expert, but I rather thought the purpose of sweat was to cool the body by evaporation, that is why evolution blessed us with it. Doesn’t sell extra expensive base layers , of course.

Nor me, but you’re pretty much spot on. Evaporation is the change in state. This requires energy, in this case, in the form of heat.

no_eyed_deer
    Free Member

… I guess the premise is that if it doesn’t ‘wick’ it can’t evaporate. But that’s mostly monkey bollucks.

Junkyard
    Free Member

think once you are soakeed in sweat it cannot evaporate like in high humidity so some merit to the argument

That said i cannot see how another layer keeps you cool just wear ONE wicking top or unzip the thing surely

I almost never wear a base layer in winter so ther eis no chance for summer

wwaswas

Isn’t the point of the base layer etc to present a larger surface area for evaporation than skin alone.

And the wicking is to draw moisture away from the skin as the sweat on the surface of the garment evaporates.

they still cool the body as evaporation takes place and just more effective than skin alone?

convert