Viewing 29 posts - 1 through 29 (of 29 total)
  • Ragley Mmmbop build suggestions
  • benjii19
    Free Member

Hi all,

After realising I wanted a new bike to replace my GT tequesta I thought I’d also like the idea of putting it together myself.

So I bit the bullet and purchased a second hand Ragley Mmmbop in Blue off that well know action site.

Any suggestions on how I could build this up?? I am quite new to MTB and have been doing a few rides roung the dark peaks. Which are quite rocky in places.

Hopefully I can source some deals, second hand, any ideas??

rob-jackson
    Free Member

I had an MmmBop in the Dark peak. I had it built up with:
    pro2/flows and 2.35 nevegals
    SLX/XT drivetrain
    150mm Fox Talas 32s (and revs 150mm with maxle)
    Joplin
    50mm stem and wide bars

Was a cracking bike

Fortunateson09
    Free Member

1×9/10 drivetrain if you’ve got the legs for it i.e. don’t need a granny ring – means you can fit a full chain device.

Big brakes – something like Shimano SLX m666

High Rollers – no point messing about with anything else

Short stem, wide bars

140mm forks that are stiff enough – RS Pikes a good starting place

That covers the basics. Other bits and pieces don’t make too much difference…

benjii19
    Free Member

Fortunateson09 – Member
    1×9/10 drivetrain if you’ve got the legs for it i.e. don’t need a granny ring – means you can fit a full chain device.

I probably havent got the legs for this yet,but was thinking of something like that. Should I go for a double on the front just to be safe??

140mm forks that are stiff enough – RS Pikes a good starting place

I was shown some Pikes at the weekend, any other suggestions?

I would like a dropper post but I dont mind the leaver under the saddle job. as I can’t afford to pay £200 for reverb

I’ve got some 680mm bars from the Tequesta and a shortened stem so will probably use them

rob-jackson
    Free Member

high rise bars

benjii19
    Free Member

rob jackson – Member