Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Question about my brakes
  • SaxonRider

So, I went to ride today and found that my 2009 Avid Juicy 5 rear brake had seized, as if the brake was permanently engaged.

I stopped by the LBS, and asked if they could do anything for me (realising that it was Saturday and I just walked in off the street, of course!), and the guy there (who was very nice) told me that:

a) probably what happened is that with the change in temperature, moisture formed in the brake line, and that there would be no way of fixing it other than to bleed it.

b) that it probably wasn’t worth it because the same thing would happen again, as Juicys were always susceptible to this problem.

c) that it was probably worth me going online and just buying some new brakes.

My question is: Do you agree with what I was told? Or should I just be able to bleed them, and expect them to be fine again?

Sorry for my ignorance, but I have never done anything with brakes before!

bikeneil
    Free Member

Avid brakes + the dustbin = a happy rider.

Suggsey
    Free Member

I am also in the same school of thought as ^^^^^^^

garage-dweller

Sorry the lbs told you to go online and buy new brakes 😯

You sure you didn’t go into the chip shop? 😉

garage-dweller

From what I have read I am not sure a set of avid brakes will ever appear on a bike of mine but having said that there must be some sets that work.

JAG

Hmmm Avid brakes may not be very good – I’ve never had any so can’t comment.

However the whole “temperature changed and moisture formed inside” story is just BS. I design brakes for Cars and this explanation is simply NOT TRUE.

I don’t know what’s wrong with your brakes but this ain’t it 🙄

Thrustyjust
    Free Member