• This topic has 48 replies, 44 voices, and was last updated 7 years ago by br.
Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 49 total)
  • Project Management – your no. 1 tip?
  • sc-xc

I have been asked to get a largeish* ICT programme back on track (lots of delays, 11th hour changes in direction etc)

I relish the challenge, but have made it clear to the gaffers that I am not a programme manager. I think they just want someone to coordinate the individual streams and keep the whole thing moving.

Years ago I did Prince 2 Practitioner (but never really used it). A quick scan through the book made me think that there will be some real world great tips from experienced PMs….so where better to ask?

What’s the one practical tip that you would give a totally green programme manager?

*(£6.5m, maybe 4 or 5 individual PMs on different streams)

Drac

Sounds like you’re the scapegoat.

thestabiliser
    Free Member

Go on internet, hand over to sucker in 6 months time.

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middling Edition

Fresh Goods Friday 696: The Middlin...
    Latest Singletrack Videos
    mrmoosehead
    Free Member

Run away.

Failing that, properly assess state of projects, and don’t be afraid to say it’s foobared.

Either way, the future should be entertaining.

howsyourdad1
    Free Member

Delegate. You cant do it all!

Rorschach
    Free Member

She’s having an affair.

lunge

Bit long, but this should cover it:

Project management – a beautiful thing!

1.It takes one woman nine months to have a baby. It cannot be done in one month by impregnating nine women.

2.Nothing is impossible for the person who doesn’t have to do it.

3.You can con a sucker into committing to an impossible deadline, but you cannot con him into meeting it.

4.At the heart of every large project is a small project trying to get out.

5.The more desperate the situation the more optimistic the situatee.

6.A problem shared is a buck passed.