Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Professional CV help / reworking?
  • Ponny
    Free Member

Anyone got any contacts in the business of professionally reworking your CV (for a fee) such that it better appeals to recruiters and employers?

I'm not a total fvckwit but my recent efforts at job applications have got me nowhere, even for jobs I am totally qualified for and in the salary ballpark. I'm wondering if my CV is sh|te.

If it helps I am an IT Service Manager in a small Managed Services Provider.

Any and all thoughts gratefully received.

John

tron
    Free Member

Some unis give out careers help to anyone, so check the websites of any that are local to you.

It may just be that it's grim out there at the moment…

br
    Free Member

I used http://www.yourcv.com, £350 for two CV's (one aimed at technical and one at management) – very pleased with the results.

Also get a few updates for free.

Macavity
    Free Member

A book: The Perfect CV by Tom Jackson is useful.

Junkyard
    Free Member

nextstep is free

Will depend who you get though as to how good they are
    My e-mail in profile if you want me to have alook but wont be till weds when I can get back to you

Scienceofficer
    Free Member

I had some professional help when I was made redundant. Apart from some very minor points they didn't really have much to say.

I'm still out of work 14months later, but I've had plenty of positive comments about my CV.

My point it, you could have the best CV in the world, but a good few job markets are pants at the moment.

tron
    Free Member

THREE HUNDRED AND FIFTY POUNDS?

Jesus.

br
    Free Member

half a days pay = decent return

tron
    Free Member

Yes, but for those of us who aren't in the 50% tax bracket…

cbrsyd
    Free Member

You shouldn't send a "generic" CV if you are applying for a specific job