Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • Problems with cramp
  • monkeyninja
    Free Member

Just back from a 2 hr ride and was starting to get cramp in thighs (front/back) and calves towards the very end of the ride. On my last all day ride both thighs went into full blown cramp at the same time and had to end up hobbling back to the van, stopping every 5 mins with the pain. This has been happening a lot recently during longer rides, I try and drink a lot of water during the rides with zero tabs but it doesn’t seem to help.
    I work as a baker and am on my feet all day and would say I’m pretty active, however, I’m not the most flexible person… Would stretching on a daily basis help? Any help would be much appreciated cause the pain is excruciating when both legs go!

crikey
    Free Member

Before everyone turns up and suggests weird combinations of electrolytes, have a look at the latest theories regarding cramp. Basically, you’re asking too much of your muscles, and the answer is more and/or better training, not drinking more salts.

Muscle Cramps: Part I

trail_rat
    Free Member

Hardly the latest theory, been widlyknown amongst athletes for years that one.

How ever under certain circumstances increasing electrolytes can help for trained athletes to maximise performance.

No number of electrolytes are going to perform magic and make you fit. Baker fit is not bike fit , as much as run fit is not bike fit…..

crikey
    Free Member

How ever under certain circumstances increasing electrolytes can help for trained athletes to maximise performance.

Can you expand on this?

monkeyninja
    Free Member

That’s sounds about right had a lot of time off the bike this summer and then just been riding as normal…. Need to start training.

trail_rat
    Free Member

Ensuring they are properly hydrated is all.