Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • Pretty Fly(press) For A White Guy
  • bencooper
    Free Member

Vices? Pah – this is proper hardware 😉

mtbfix

Thanks for that. The background has reminded me I need to look into getting a loft ladder fitted.

Jamie
    Free Member

You monster 😡

bencooper
    Free Member

😀

nicko74

That looks like you set it up in an aisle in Maplins…

What *is* a flypress?!

pingu66
    Free Member

I remember using one of them when I was an apprentice and getting ****ted in the head, arm hand every time it span back round. OK it may have been operator error but it hurt like hell and I feared the beast.

Proper chuckle at Jamie’s photoshop.

Nice, looks even better on its own cast iron stand as well.

I bought this saw a while ago. Proper cast iron heavyweight, I had to get a friend to unload it with his JCB. 🙂

Ishouldbeworking
    Free Member

isn’t it missing the ‘flies’ ? The ones I have seen had 2 heavy balls with holes through the centre mounted on those 2 bits sticking up.

kayak23

Yeah, our ones at college in the jewellery workshop have balls on them. Nice mind, even sans balls.

TheDTs
    Free Member

Do you have any surplus tooling for it? I’m looking for a 6mm x 15mm racetrack slot and a 15mm radius for ours.

bencooper
    Free Member

No balls or tooling. I do need a large pair of balls. However such things are available on the Internet I’m told.

It was fun getting it out of the van and into the shop without a forklift 😉

cheez0
    Free Member

only needs balls if you are twatting big bits unless you have a bit of weight to put behind it.

presumably the stop works too on yours? (will stop the self-twatting of head, arms etc)

Northwind

Jamie, I don’t think that’s a fly.

I know they’re useful things but it looks like something you’d use to make cheese, or do the laundry in the 1800s. This is the POWER-MANGLE.

stavromuller
    Free Member

It’s definately a flypress, trust me, I’m a ducter.

bencooper