Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Prescription sunglasses or contacts?
  • lilesy
    Free Member

Hi,
    I have finally got to the stage where I am having to wear my glasses to ride in, does anyone wear contacts to ride and are they ok or can anyone recommend some prescription sun glasses for riding?

spev

After 20 years riding in glasses I finally succumbed to contacts. I only wear them for riding and surfing and they are superb, I use daily disposables after trying em for free from boots.
    I’d recommend them to anyone ( and I have a real problem putting stuff near my eyes)

Sandwich

Using monthly disposables here with extended wear (up to a week without a clean). No problems in 10+ years, though I need reading glasses now with them in 🙁

martymac

contacts all the way, your field of vision is much better than with glasses.
    ive been using contacts on and off for 20 years, no problems at all.

Hareydan
    Free Member

I’ve worn contacts for over 10 years now, never had a problem riding in them. I’d much rather ride in them than my specs!

ddmonkey

I use both, prescription sunglasses for days when I don’t need the contacts, then daily disposables for sport etc. They are great for cycling, especially when I’m downhilling and wearing goggles. I find when surfing that they can absorb a bit of the saltiness of the water and can get a bit sore after a while but that’s the only issue I have had.

treaclesponge
    Free Member

Contacts. Simples

Northwind

Assuming you get on OK with contacts (not everyone does) I don’t think there’s an argument really. I can’t be bothered to wear mine daily, but I hardly ride without them and when I do, I wish I wasn’t.

You’ll probably still want to wear some sort of eyewear, since getting crap in your eyes with contacts can be fairly unpleasant (as can having one shift at speed, gulp) but then that’s no hardship, most people seem to wear glasses for descending anyway.