Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • PPL Pilot License
  • alexxx
    Free Member

Has anyone got any words of advice on doing their PPL from their own experience?

I feel like I want a challenge to learn a skill that I never imagined myself having and this feels like it ticks the boxes from my initial research.

As I’ve got no flight experience I was considering going the glider route first or having a few short sessions to see how it sits with me before obviously committing.

I know it doesn’t allow you to fly in low vis or bad weather so wondering if I’m being a little optimistic about doing it if living in the UK?

I haven’t got so far to see what license I’d need to fly in France or other countries but that’d more likely be the eventual aim.

Thanks

jambalaya
    Free Member

I’ve done a bit of gliding and really love it, I like the challenge of finding lift and the serenity. No where near solo standard fwiw. Its much much cheaper to get your solo/licence than powered and then of course cheaper to do on an ongoing basis. Common to have ownership clubs sharing an aircraft. Note once you get the licence you have to do a certain number of hours to keep it up and this is costly for powered. A good friend of mine who has a glider licence now flies microlights as the best bang for his buck.

Andy_B

I’m part way through mine. I have a lot of thoughts but these are the main ones:

-Go with an experienced instructor who wants you to learn rather than someone who is looking for an airline job and just needs the money.
    -really question whether your instructor is teaching you or just sitting beside you and change if necessary
    – the weather will cause delays, accept it’s going to take longer than you expect
    -read all the books at least once as quickly as you can as there is plenty of detail hidden in them that will help you