Viewing 19 posts - 1 through 19 (of 19 total)
  • potential to leave joblesstrackworld, a few questions
  • turin
    Free Member

After a few years of not getting much luck in the great job hunt I have an interview in the next few weeks.

In the email I have to confirm my attendance they are asking what my current salary is and what my salary expectations are.

Currently Im earning slightly more than not very much and had always been told to use the “im sure the salary on offer for such a position will be the market rate for the position…..blah blah etc” but this only really works at interview.

A bit of background, I graduated with a Postgrad MSc in 2007 and since then had 6 months on a research project then been self employed sometimes earning enough to pay tax!!

So this is a bit tricky to get things right.

Ive tried to speak to people I know, but the answers Im getting vary wildly.

The job is in the Renewable Energy sector, if that is any help in the responses. I don’t really want to put too much in the open world, just incase

Any helpful suggestions very welcome

cheers

turin

wrecker
    Free Member

Start with what you need to live. Add as little luxury as you dare. Harsh, but you will be competing for the role. Get the job, prove your value then start the negotiations.
    Oh, and bloody good luck.

cynic-al
    Free Member

Can’t you work out what the job generally pays?

I’d add…”if you don’t ask”…

turin
    Free Member

Thanks for the responses,

I only NEED 10K, to survive, which is about what Ive been living on, I know I could quite possibly say 18K and be below what they are thinking. Im really not trying to be greedy, just trying to get a handle on things. And not looking to make myself look too cheap and perhaps suggest Im not the caliber of candidate they are looking for.

Al, Ive been looking around trying to find a similar role so I can even get a scale. But unfortunately There doesn’t seem to be much out there.