Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • Please recommend me a DH frame!
  • strangertothelight
    Free Member

Haven’t been on here in a while, but wanted to pick your brains about a new build.

I have decided that I want to build up a fun and responsive DH bike. I don’t want to break the bank, but I also don’t want to hold back and don’t want an absolute tank. I’d like something that is reasonably understated but also reeks of quality.

I know that I want the Fox 40 forks, but other than that I have not decided on too many of the other components.

If anyone can recommend a good frame that might fit what I am looking for, please make some suggestions! I feel completely out of my depth here as I have never built a DH bike before!

Initially, I have been looking at things like:
    Cove Shocker
    Evil Revolt – bit uneasy about this one because of stories of the frames cracking

Nukeproof scalp with a ccdb ?

Or if your looking for a full bike how about one of these

http://www.yt-industries.com/shop/de/Bikes/Tues2.0ltd-2013?x48e50=52keteli9r21lrh00nicfnr73fpihi1q

An absolute bargain

racingsnail
    Free Member

I used to have a Commencal Supreme DH (V2) and loved it and had been eyeing up the V3 for a while but kind of fell out of love with DH so couldn’t really justify getting another. If I was to get a DH bike again it would be that.

pinhead
    Free Member

nukeproof scalp

beicmynydd
    Free Member

I second the scalp, great bike

How about a TR 450

faceplanter
    Free Member

I have a ’11 Cove Shocker. If you’re near FOD 2nd December I am down there for the mini DH, you’re welcome to take her for a spin.
    Tim.

one_happy_hippy
    Free Member

V10C. Canfield Jedi.

Depends on what your budget is and if you want new or second hand.

Lots of racers are selling 2012 season bikes ready for next season at this time of year so you can bag a bargain.

I know of at least one full build V10c going for under 3.5k

zangolin
    Free Member

Scalp