Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • PIke setup help?
  • JonEdwards
    Free Member

I’ve been running Northwind’s old Pikes (160mm, 26″) for a couple of months now, and on the whole rather like them – rather better all round than my Revs, but not quite as good as my ancient coil Lyrics. However I can’t set them up to feel right AND get full travel.

Currently running 2 volume tokens, 55psi and no floodgate. (I’m 144lb+kit). They stay up in their travel nicely, supportive, little brake dive and feel great over typical Peaks chunder. But I’m just not getting the last 1.5″ of travel.

If I take out a volume token and/or run less pressure, the midstroke goes soggy. If I add floodgate to counteract that, it starts feeling harsh, without really getting the support back.

The biggest impact I routinely take is the drop at the end of the Steelcity track (not the nastiest landing ever), and that still leaves me an inch short of full travel. I’ve only bottomed them once (with one volume token in) when I got a bit lazy and nosed a 3′ to flat drop.

Thoughts/ideas…?

Thanks!

Northwind

o/ You weigh about the same as me and I’ve a feeling I ran them with 2 tokens, 50psi (there’s still a sticker on my frame that says 45psi but I think I went up a bit) no floodgate and just a little compression adjuster. I was never really totally happy with the damping tbh but I didn’t have any issues with using the travel…

JonEdwards
    Free Member

OK, sounds like I’m in the ballpark then. I can get what travel I do use pretty easily, just no further!

If I run less air I find they get a bit trapdoory – all will be great, then I’ll tag something and rather than skip over it, the front wheel will just catch, the fork will dive through most of it’s travel and nearly launch me.

scruff
    Free Member

Checked the damping oil level?

JonEdwards
    Free Member