Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Personal Trainers – Used One? Good/Bad Experiences?
  • Ishouldbeworking
    Free Member

A while ago I would have immediately dismissed a personal trainer as a bit of an unnecessary luxury for the average person.

However my problem is that I’ve been working very hard for the past 3 years and noticed as a result that what fitness I ever had has reduced and my belly is ever expanding. After trying to do something about it for quite a while with pretty much no success a recent change in circumstances has given me some more serious motivation.

When I was in the gym tonight for the second day in a row I was thinking that I have no real idea what I’m doing and that matters are further compounded by having a pretty rubbish diet. I’ve read quiet a few posts on here which have contained useful and seemingly sensible information but I find it hard to apply everything I read to my own lifestyle particularly as I work offshore on a ad-hoc basis so I’m constantly changing gyms, working hours etc. an don’t have full control over what I can eat.

This is where I started thinking that possibly I could go to someone who could give me a sound basic understanding along with some sort of plan specifically designed to what I would realistically be able to do, and perhaps I would be able to use my time more wisely. Do average people use personal trainers to do this or is the cost prohibitive, a quick google suggests its not too expensive but do you get what you pay for?

Obviously I try and get out on my bikes as much as I can but it always tends to be a 1.5/2hr blast which I expect isn’t that useful in the grander scheme of things.

And I realise that I could probably join a gym and get them to do some kind of plan but it doesn’t really appeal, I like the idea of something more dedicated to me.

Bit of a long post, thanks if you read this far, and thanks if you have any advice.

Cheers

SilentSparky
    Free Member