Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Pentax SLR Cameras
  • gribble
    Free Member

Howdy All,

I posted a while ago about some old Pentax SLR cameras and the 8 or so lenses I had for them. After much debate (with myself), I have sold the two 35mm camera bodies and kept all the lenses (all Pentax K mount compatible).

I am therefor in the market for SLR an camera and am keen to make use of the Pentax lenses, where possible. I am new to DSLRs in general, so any advice would be much appreciated.

I was thinking of purchasing a K500 or K30. The K30 is the slightly better model, and has weather proof sealing, but is more expensive. Camera body only is £420 ish (or £460 with basic lens kit), whereas a K500 with a basic lens is £350. Having recently sold some stuff on ebay, I have got a small fund to cover the purchase, so would prefer to buy the camera that would be better in the long term. There is also the option of a K50, but again this is more money.

Merry Christmas to all and thanks in advance for any advice.

Conqueror
    Free Member

good lord, a fellow heretic 😛

I would also consider picking up a K-5 (original) 2nd hand from Ebay UK or a forum for around 350 squid…

The advantages of the K-5 over the K-30 will be the 14 bit RAW, slightly better DR, Magnesium Alloy Body, marginally faster shooting and longer battery life, top lcd and silent shutter

Of those advantages I reckon the top lcd and silent shutter are two of the better ones