Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • pembrokeshire
  • peteroughton169
    Free Member

hi all, newbie here. i am going to be living in tenby, pembrokeshire for most of the next year, 2 weeks at a time. i would be greatfull (?) of any trail recomendations apart from the obvious brechfa. all replies will be very appreciated!

geoffj

You're gonna struggle. Preseli hills have bit, but that'd be a trek from Tenby.
    Take up watersports while you are there or get a road bike.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

Climbing

CountZero

Well, you're probably closer to the trail centers in the south than I am in North Wilts, and you've no bridge tolls to worry about. There's Cwm Carn, and Afan which should be easily reached from Tenby.

mikewsmith
    Free Member

we had a rule when we used to go to St Davids for climbing trips

However long it takes to get to the end of the M4 = the time it takes to get to St Davids

holds fast no matter where you start on a B'hol weekend

CountZero

Distance-wise you're probably a bit closer, but no tolls. You've got a good run up through Camarthen to Brecon, and there's loads of good riding in the Beacons and around Llangorse.

Ambrose

Log onto MTB-Wales.com . Loads of good advice and opportunities there. There are quite a few riders near (relatively, be prepared to travel!) Tenby.

I'm in Ammanford, working in Burry Port, about an hour away.

Colin-T

Not much local to Tenby.

There's some stuff around Blackmill that I've not tried – from all reports its not great.

Some riding on the Presellis.

Lots of good stuff round Brechfa in addition to the waymarked stuff.

Nant-yr-arian is a doable distance and there's loads more riding in that area too.

ampthill

Surfing

Rock Climbing

Road Cycling

Windsurfing

Surf Canoeing

All great

SprocketJockey
    Free Member