Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Pace 405
  • TimP
    Free Member

So why does the pace never get a mention when the “what trail bike?” threads come out? Went out oj one tonight and was pretty impressed. Great traction going uphill, no bob, pretty light. My issues would be regarding the amount of bearings, cables, hoses, pivots all around the BB. Looks like plenty of clearance further back but set up with 3×9 it all looked a bit busy. Forks and shock weren’t set up for me so wasn’t getting much travel and the bars a bit narro. also wondering if the head angle might be a bit steep with 4″ fork. Anyone else have any experiences?

jonjones262
    Free Member

they snap/crack lots, don’t they?

Mintman
    Free Member

I’ve been riding my 405 for a few years now (not constantly obviously).

It’s not cracked yet, encouraged me to ride more than I ever used to and I find it to be very different (and more XC than my Giant Trance that preceded it).

Gets used at Glentress, Afan and FOD mainly and not missed a beat.

I’m sure more experienced people might talk about steep angles and stuff – the fact is I like how it rides and have no regrets buying it; I continue to recommend it to my friends.

Some have reported the frames cracking but without seeing what proportion of the population that is, I’m not going to lose any sleep over it as I don’t think the market is flooded with failed frames…

retro83
    Free Member

Nice frames with a few issues 🙂 Make sure you get one with the DT Swiss shock.

Simwit

I’ve just done a week in the Pyrenees on mine & it coped admirably with everything I threw at it & it got me down all the stuff the bigger bikes managed. Bearing life is good & I’ve never had any issues with cables or hoses but as the OP points out the head angle would probably be considered a bit old school now. I’ve never heard of a 405 frame cracking, that was the 303 was it not?

eyerideit
    Free Member

Pace don’t get much love on this forum.