Viewing 25 posts - 1 through 25 (of 25 total)
  • Owning and using a boat in the UK
  • SaxonRider

Like many Canadians, I grew up around boats. With many weeks every year spent at a log cabin on a lake, powerboats were simply taken for granted, and many of us drove them from a relatively young age. In addition, people like my wife and I took swimming lessons, including life saving courses and boating qualifications.

So, I mention this to make it clear that I am relatively experienced on water and with boats. What I have no experience of, however, is how any of that would translate to the UK, and using a powerboat on coastal waters. Are there laws that govern boat use? Do people have to train and earn a license? His boat use restricted in some way? Like sticking it boating lanes, or boating zones?

Sorry for the ignorant questions, but I would be very interested in knowing what the boating ‘culture’ here is like. After 1 years of living here, I’m finally getting interested!

chewkw
    Free Member

I see the bureaucrats coming …

They will probably arrest you for polluting the water with your Canadian powerboats. 😆

Oh ya … they don’t like rich powerboat foreigner you know.

Don’t forget to speak to them in a very strong Canadian or American accent. (both sound the same to them) 😆

properbikeco
    Free Member

no laws really regarding ownership

some restrictions in ports etc as to what you can and cannot do

also you’d be daft to go out without a vhf and lifejackets but really there are practically no restrictions

Klunk
    Free Member

there’s practically no rules apart from a speed limit and pass on the right and give way to sail* where motor boating on the norfolk broads is concerned. Drunk in charge of a boat is pretty common too, floating gin palaces for the most part or a way of getting to the next pub.

*optional

rwamartin
    Free Member