Viewing 28 posts - 1 through 28 (of 28 total)
  • OT: In-car A/C
  • dawson

Normally I leave the air-con turned off in my car (as i think it affects the fuel economy), but, with this warmer weather, i have been using it a bit.

I have noticed it pongs a bit – am i going to catch some horrible disease?

Should I use it more so that the smell goes away?

montylikesbeer

You should use it every now and then as your book of words will tell you.

I’m not an AC engineer but it may just be a bit of “what have you” where it should not be.

uplink
    Free Member

It has an off button? 😉

mundiesmiester
    Free Member

If you have not been using at all there is a good chance the seals on the compressor have dried up meaning it is knackered. The smell is caused by the bugs in the ducting, either crank the heat up to full and run it at full blast to kill them or if this does not work buy something like Comma aircon cleaner which fills the car with a gas that will kill them.

cp

+1 for running the a/c at least 10 mins once a week, no matter what the temp- it’ll run warm too. AC is fab for clearing misted windows on cold winters mornings 🙂

dawson

I only got the car 2 months ago, so I can’t comment on how much the previous owner has used the air-con.

i’ll get into the habit of using it.

Whats this ‘re-gassing’ that I have seen advertised?

Biffer
    Free Member

over a period of time the gas used at the coolant leaks away and so needs to be topped up or ‘re-gassed’.
    Run the a/c and check that cold air blows out. IF only warm air comes out then a re-gas will be required.

montylikesbeer

re gassing is pumping any lost coolant back into the closed system, the compressor “compresses the coolant, hey presto you get magic cold

dawson

deffo got cold air coming out – so re-gas not required.

Ta, folks.

stumpy01

I have heard of people sticking their a/c on re-circ at full whack & spraying a heap of Neutradol spray into the car & letting it circulate.