Viewing 24 posts - 1 through 24 (of 24 total)
  • Orienteering – what do I need?
  • Kryton57

I volunteered to do an overnight – yes overnight – orienteering event with a friend of mine. We’ll have two hours training for map reading etc, but then were off. Its my first time so, what do I need? I have:

Merrells/Boots
    Hiking trousers
    Layers/Waterproofs
    cree pocket torch, will be buying a headtorch
    A camelback full of drink, mini-flask or coffee and some snacks
    A sense of humour

Anything else?

perchypanther
    Free Member

A map and a compass?

Kryton57

It comes with the event 🙂

Stoner
    Free Member

A Paramo top (called a “cagoule”)
    A beard
    A cloudy one of these

And an over confidence in your map reading ability…
    Have fun 🙂

thestabiliser
    Free Member

Ron Hills,

flushed cheeks,

unappetising sandwiches,

angry looking wife

momo

Basic first aid kit.
    Probably worth keeping some handwarmers in your bag too and a second pair of gloves. If you’re map reading, taking bearings etc you’ll not be able to stick your hands in your pockets if they get cold/wet.

alwillis

A ‘dibber’

fasthaggis

Change your name to Graham and buy a really big knife.

CraigW
    Free Member

A whistle.
    A GPS logger, so you can look at the track afterwards, and see how lost you were.
    Depends on terrain, but gaiters can be very useful.

stevious

You’re on a training plan, right?

In that case I’d take a garmin with HRM so that it logs the appropriate HR estimation of TSS. I’d keep it in my bag and not look at it at all during the event though as even carrying it is probably technically cheating*.

Footwear – I’d personally opt for fast/light over waterproofness/support. Depends on your attitude to the event though.

*If I was intending on being in any way competitive in the event I’d leave the garmin at home, but if I was just doing it for the experience I’d personally be happy with trusting myself not to cheat with it.

TomB