Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • Orange five + rp23 play/bushings advice needed
  • carbon337
    Free Member

Not sure whats up here – I am quite new to this kind of maintanance.

I noticed a small amount of play in the back end of my Five like a small clunking when I gently press down on the seat then remove the pressure. Just to add im not piling weight into the shock this is just a gentle load.

I think i narrowed it down to where the shock mounts onto the rear swingarm. I rempved the bolt that goes through which was tight. One side of the metal bits that push into either end of the hole in the ram section is very loose – as in you can push it in and pull it out of the eye very easily – when in there is a small amount of play.

Is this normal or should these metal bushes bits be tight? Are they even classed as bushes?

The bits that push into this hole :

Where do i get replacements – what size etc do i need?

Thanks for the help

jam-bo

Easy job. Five minutes with a couple of sockets and a vice or you can buy a special tool. New bushes are about £4 each.

Betd, tftuned or mojo should be able to sort you out.

carbon337
    Free Member

i pressume since your mentioning – vices, sockets and a tool that these should be pushed tight into that eyelet – and therefore shouldnt just fall out?

coatesy
    Free Member

22.2mm x 8mm is the size to ask for when ordering.Not sure if the DU bush is 12.5mm or 1/2″ on a fox though.

kaesae
    Free Member

All you have to replace is the inner eye let bush, if you leave it the outer bush will need replacing as well.

I have a CNC alloy bushing tool to replace the bushes for £20 I can also throw in some bushes say 3x for free with the tool. I only have one of these tools spare.

You can also get a cheap tool on ebay for £11.50 http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Fox-Shock-Bush-Removal-Tool-/110638396807?pt=UK_sportsleisure_cycling_bikeparts_SR&hash=item19c28ff587