Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Orange Alpine 160 size?
  • zepequeno
    Free Member

Hi everyboby! Let me start introducing me, i’m new in singletrack forum, so, i’m an 35 year old spanish rider that gave up recently the DH scene and i’m looking for an enduro ride. My first option is an Orange Alpine 160, but i have a serious doubt about the size, 16″, or 18″. I’m just in between, i’m 5’10” and i always was perfectly suitted at 17″.

After questioned to my local dealer, he is telñling me, yes, you are in between but closest to 18″, better for “climbing”? but i already have an allmountain hardtail for longer rides. I’m looking for short rides, with not to much for climb and lot of descent. And go for Maxis and Megas… Could be better then a 16″? anyone there with Alpine 160 that can help me please?

Thanx in advance

chris_mbuk
    Free Member

ive just bought a new alpine 160 and im 5 foot 6 and its an 16 inch frame and does me fine so 17 sounds about right for you, buy one there awesome, slog all the downhills ;p

lungman

Hi there and welcome, alpine is a great bike. Worth upgrading to the ccbd if you can afford it as much better on the DH. I’m 6 foot and the 18 is fab for me, it’s a long bike so I would go for the 16 if I was you. I think you’ll have ablaze on it and if climbing not the main use then the slightly smaller frame would be better. Depends on your riding style, if you like to pump the ground and work the bike then 16 which is more likely for enduro style riding. Or the larger frame would be more stable at speed but less manoverable.

Hope this helps

jay

Im 5’11” and went for the 18″. Fits me perfectly. Certainly wouldnt have wanted to go for the 16″ as I spend as much time riding up hills as I do riding down them.

Try a demo bike? Whereabouts are you? If you are near Manchester, NorthWest Mountainbike Centre have a demo day coming up. I bought mine from there.

GRAEMEJONES