Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • One for the home-brewers…
  • pymwymis
    Free Member

First off I should say I’m a rank amateur at this malarkey. However since I got one of the Massive Brewery all grain kits I’ve started to get a bit more geekey – there’s a lot more fannying about you can do when you create your own wort.

This rambles a bit as I’m thinking as I write so apologies.

The more I get into it the more questions I seem to be coming up with and the latest is this:

I quite like the idea of clear beer – I’ve drunk plenty of cloudy homebrew in the past and while it was fine I just looking to add the finishing touch.

My options appear to be :

Secondary fermentation in-bottle and just leave it for as long as it takes for the sediment to settle and be careful with the pouring from the bottle……Meh !

Secondary fermentation in another vessel then use finings and decant carefully into a keg for pressurisation / use counter pressure bottler.
    The important bit here is that received wisdom tells me that once I’ve used finings I can’t secondary ferment / prime in bottle as the yeast is buggered.
    (Plan is to use isingglass FWIW but the PITA is cooling everything down to an appropriate temp for it to do it’s work properly – other than wait for the cold weather, how do you do it ?). Is the received wisdom correct ?

Secondary fermentation in 2nd vessel then filter and fill bottle using counter pressure filler (which I quite like but it’s just extra expense and faff and I would struggle for space – new shed ?)
    Again received wisdom is that once filtered priming in bottle is not possible as yeast will be buggered (assumes 1 micron filter for clarity, which removes yeast aswell). Maybe 5 micron and secondary fermentation in bottle is possible ?

What I’d like to do (‘cos it’s cheap) is :

Decant from fermentation vessel……..Isingglass……Prime in-bottle.

Is that possible or does the middle bit prevent the last bit ?

What do you lot do ?