Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • On one fatty bb dying
  • burko73

My second hand fatty is making sounds like there’s broken marbles and sand in the bb shel instead of nice bearings. It’s an sram x5 chainset and I don’t know what bb.

I’m new to fatties, what are my options ref bb?

I’m not that fussed with the sram shifters either and the cassette/ chain is worn as well.

What are my 2×10 options ref chucking shimano shifters/ cassette/ poss new middle chainring on I guess I can reuse the cranks with a new bb? Any hollowtech 2 bbs/ cranks available? It’s a100mm bb I think?

Northwind

SRAM GXP bottom bracket, ie shite unfortunately, and incompatible with everyone else’s stuff. I had a google and Gusset do a compatible one now, that’s a win…

http://www.tritoncycles.co.uk/bmx-parts-c7/bottom-brackets-c101/gusset-external-sram-gxp-bottom-bracket-p12677/s35578?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&utm_term=gusset-external-sram-gxp-bottom-bracket-bbguxs2k&utm_campaign=product%2Blisting%2Bads&gclid=CIH77IOSu8wCFcWVGwodBekLRg

I haven’t used this exact product but I use their Shimano-compatible one and it’s good. Way better than SRAM’s junk. Pretty sure this will work in your bike.

burko73

North wind. Good man. Will try these.

Did you know (from tweets cycles website) that “sram have now achieved total drivetrain nirvana….”

What a load of marketing boll£&s…!

I guess I can use shimano 10 sp on the back end/ shifters with a new sram chain with no probs?

burko73

North wind. Those bb cups only fit 68/73 width due to the internal sleeve. I guess I just bin the internal sleeve then and it’ll be fine in a 100mm shell?

Northwind