Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • On One 456 or Whippet as a trail singlespeed?
  • mbqwerty
    Free Member

Once I’ve got my full susser out the way, I’d like to transfer a lot of gubbins from my voodoo wanga singespeed onto an On One carbon whippet frame. Since I started properly mountain biking a few years ago, always had a bit of a soft spot for them – not sure why, logic and reason aside.
    (I even rather like the whippet decal even though a lot of people think it looks rather equine!)

I’d like to have the swap-out dropouts to allow me to run between a singelspeed setup (34-16/18) and 1×10 setup for much longer (hillier) days.

I’m no professional weight weenie, but would like to keep the weight down so didn’t really consider any other frame, however looking at the weight of the carbon 456 or the new carbon 456evo (1.5 and 1.4kg respectively) compared with the whippet’s svelte 1.3kg, there’s not much in it.

So, my question is, is it worth getting the carbon 456 instead of the whippet for all out strength/option choices (it’ll take a tapered fork, 100-160mm fork, isg mounts (although probably wouldn’t use them) etc etc. Would the 456 be a bit stronger and burlier than the whippet?

For info, the bike would mainly be used on trail centre singletrack style rather than bigger hitting off piste stuff etc (I’ll use the full susser for that!)

Thoughts?

Garry_Lager

Have you ridden the whippet? Imagine the geometry is quite different to a 456. I have a whippet as my main ride and like it a lot – it’s quite an xc, forward position, though. Feels great climbing, but can accentuate one’s limitations on difficult descents.

The 456 must be a more versatile frame, although it’s ugly as a bagful of arseholes. The whippet OTOH is a decent looking bike (IMO), really smart looking from certain angles.

Thrustyjust
    Free Member