Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Offset mortgages. Good/bad?
  • brooess
    Free Member

Just been doing a quick calculation on mortgage repayments.
    As I’m a contractor I’ll be keeping a sum of money aside to last me between contracts.
    The saving looks substantial – c 35% of the mortgage repayment.

Is there a catch?

clubber
    Free Member

I’m on one. I did the sums and unless I assume that stocks/shares will perform well, I was far better off using my savings to offset (1 yr into 3yr deal)

br
    Free Member

Yes, higher rates of interest.

And just make sure you put the money back into your business accounts at the end of the tax year.

kimbers

its worked out very well for us, compared to our old deal not contractors or anything

and meant we could overpay a fair amount

oliverd1981
    Free Member

Obviously the rates are a little bit higher than a normal fixed deal, but it normally doesn’t take too much cash in your offset account before you’re better off.

You’re not “making”any interest – so that makes it nice and tax efficient and also the money is accessible straight away.

Watch out for fees and tie in periods – as with any mortgage.

The only disadvantage I can see is they cut down the amount of interest you pay the bank so significantly that they’re bound to get stopped one day.

messiah
    Free Member

Chap i worked with used to pay himself one large dividend at the start of the year into his offset.

pdw
    Free Member

Depends how you feel about having your cash tied up. If you’re happy to commit to putting your savings against your mortgage for 2/3/5 years you’d be better off with a normal mortgage as the rates are better, but in the OP’s position offset might make a lot of sense.

stilltortoise
    Free Member

Good. Had one a few years ago and it worked a treat. Obviously not much cop if you have no savings 🙂

DrP

Do you reckon these would suit a situation where you get paid gross?