Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 42 total)
  • Obree – total genius
  • Big-Dave
    Free Member
    Taff
    Free Member

It looks scary to ride that’s for sure. I’m a little cynical about how he will get the record on those wheels but the guy is a genius and knows what he’s doing so fingers crossed.

z1ppy

<awaits video of face & tarmac interfacing>
    … Scary looking, and what size wheels are they?
    Shirely they’ll be open revolt about this on here due to that..
    (I have no idea what the background is to this)

Big-Dave
    Free Member

He intends to get up to 100mph on it once a fairing has been made. The videos of him making the bike in his kitchen have been very entertaining.

fourbanger
    Free Member

As much as I really want this to work, I’ve got a horrible feeling he’s just lost the plot. I’m hoping to be proven wrong.

z1ppy

MMMmm’ok 😯

Kevsterjw
    Free Member

i’d of thought resting on your chest in very condusive to good breathing.

but good luck to him, legend.

fervouredimage
    Free Member

100mph lying on your chest with your face a few inches from the tarmac.

Sounds like fun.

mike_p
    Free Member

Only about 95mph to go then… seems a long way off

bencooper
    Free Member

Hey, he bought those tyres from me! 🙂

It’s an interesting design – prone recumbents have been about for a while but have never had that much success, it’ll be interesting to see if this is any different, and the linear drive is neat too.

(as an aside, it always puzzles me when people want to know how recumbents and folders can be fast with small wheels – my reply is that if wheel size mattered then tractors would be faster than F1 cars)

ski
    Free Member

Hey, he bought those tyres from me!

Were they rated for doing 100mph? 😉

bencooper
    Free Member

Correction: never seen ’em before in my life 🙂

richmtb

I don’t think I’d attempt to do 100mph on a pushbike along Saltcoats promenade thats for sure

racefaceec90