Viewing 23 posts - 1 through 23 (of 23 total)
  • not wearing helmets – contributory negligence…
  • jimbobrighton
    Free Member

http://www.bikebiz.com/news/30165/No-helmet-thats-contributory-negligence

interesting situation this – does that mean that if you break your leg and it can be proved that you woudln’t have done if you were wearing full body armour, on your commute, you would not receive full compensation?

interesting situation……

STW comments please!

lordmerchant
    Free Member

helmets are a hot potato….I work as a cycling instructor in primary schools, and depending on which LEA a particular schools falls under the children may or may not have to wear a helmet. For example if I work within my own county I as the instructor MUST wear my helmet, but the children DO NOT have to, but if I work within a neighbouring county ALL children AND myself must wear a helmet. Even though I am aware of research that’s shows helmets may not necessarily offer protection in an accident, I always urge my trainees to wear a helmet, and I never use my bike without one.

coffeeking
    Free Member

Possibly because helmets are commonplace, cheap and very easy to get hold of, and already compulsory for motorbikes, which haven’t caused the problem of expecting people to wear body armour in god knows how many years of being the law. I see your point though, and I do think it should be personal choice to some degree. I’d want my kids wearing helmets, I certainly wouldnt want their instructor to tell them to take it off etc, but if a parent decided they thought the evidence showed helmets caused damage then thats their call.

Helmets will always be an emotive issue. We’ll never have agreement across the board.

glenp
    Free Member