• This topic has 32 replies, 27 voices, and was last updated 8 years ago by wa202.
Viewing 33 posts - 1 through 33 (of 33 total)
  • Not using all my travel!!!!
  • marcfoy89
    Free Member

Hey guys, I have a set of marzocchi 44 rc3 ti forks on my bike, bought these a while back and I’m not really a suspension expert. I don’t seem to be using all the travel, even on bigger hits like jumps and drops, I’m only a nipper at 60kg’s and was wondering if the standard spring in the forks was slightly too stiff for me? Also I have let all the air out. Any advise would be greatly appreciated.

qwerty
    Free Member

Is your fork sagged correctly? That’d be first port of call, then compression settings.

qwerty
    Free Member
    PeterPoddy
    Free Member

There’s no rule that says you must use all your travel. It’s a myth started by people (magazines mostly) that don’t have a clue.
    Get the settings and static sag sorted, learn how it’s done and what effect the damping knobs have, get it set up and then leave it alone. If you hit it hard enough, you’ll use all your travel, believe me. I had one set of forks 4-5 years and only used full travel twice.

bruneep
    deadkenny
    Free Member

I’d also argue that jumps and drops may not be what you want the travel for, unless you’re dropping to flat a lot. If they’re transitioned right you may need very little. After all, people jump with BMXs 😉

In my case I see the travel more for fast hammering down rough stuff (which could include drops). It’s my justification for a big travel AM bike anyway 😀 . People see it and assume I’m all into hitting massive jumps, gaps and drops, but a) I’m crap at them 😀 and b) I’ve felt the benefit most in rocky or rooty as hell fast descents.

mikewsmith
    Free Member