Viewing 37 posts - 1 through 37 (of 37 total)
  • Not an iPad?
  • Kryton57

I believe I want a netbook, for occasional browsing, email and occasional editing of documents whilst in hotels for work. Hence I need a keyboard and don’t want to pay £600 for an iPad.

Thing is, netbooks are in there way out. Is there an alternative I haven’t considered? Asus Transformer is good but too expensive.

What have I missed, anything?

monkeychild
    Free Member

*watches thread*

the-muffin-man

Sounds like you need a small decent powered laptop (with decent res 13″ ish screen).

iPads and tablets aren’t best suited to actual work related tasks!

BearBack
    Free Member

Microsoft Surface?

I’ve no experience, but I really like their ad campaign.

One of our guides tried to survive with an ipad.. decided it was impossible and all the ipad serve to do is make you realise that you really need a macbook if you want to anything other than app/browse/email.

CountZero

What have I missed, anything?

A second-hand iPad?

Drac

An iPad for £479 😀

IvanDobski
    Free Member

Chromebook.

deadlydarcy
    Free Member

I would have thought a chrome book would be a good idea for the OP too. Quite a bit cheaper than an iPad aren’t they?

IvanDobski
    Free Member

My Samsung 3 series was £220. Nice bit of kit and the whole “you have to be online” thing is massively overstated.

Nobby

I’ve been quite impressed with my mums Archos 101 xs.

Drac

Nice bit of kit and the whole “you have to be online” thing is massively overstated.

It’s kind of essential for emails though.

cranberry
    Free Member

A thinkpad x60 and a small SSD.

Install Ubuntu for speedy goodness or Windows XP for compatible familiarity.

molgrips
    Free Member

11″ laptop with something like an AMD E450 cpu or whatever the equivalent Intel Atom variant is. Nice and small, not quite as small as a netbook, big enough to work on, enough power to work properly, 8 hour battery life (on some) and they can be had for £300.