Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 91 total)
  • normal for portrait photographers to keep copyright or not sell digital file?
  • Markie
    Free Member

Hi. We've got a baby who is 12 and a half weeks old (yay!).

We're looking to get some professional portraits done of her. Just spoken to a photographer who said that he doesn't give out or sell his digital images – we can look at the photos on screen at his place, but then have to pick some and pay for him to print them on whatever medium we like.

This is fine, except that we've got relatives all over the world and I know that what a number of them (even grandmothers!) want is to receive an image file they can use as a desktop background.

I'm new to it and have no idea what is reasonable / normal. Any advice would be appreciated – as would any recommendations of baby portrait photographers near Wallingford / Oxford!

Thanks

Mark

mastiles_fanylion
    Free Member

This is very normal practice and it annoys me to hell too. You pay for a service yet they keep copyright even for your own personal use. (You could understand it if you wanted to then sell it on for profit but you do not).

Of course this means they can also use that image for their own marketing purposes.

We have just had a huge fall out with a photographer (we had used them for our wedding and again recently for a family portrait) for almost identical reasons.

Oh and congrats on the baby – our twins are now 18.2 weeks old 🙂

EDIT – of course if you have a scanner and a small amount of knowledge of manipulation software you should be able to scan in any photograph you have printed off and adjust the colours etc to make a decent enough fist of it to send around the world.

GrahamS

Yep, pretty standard practise.

You may be able to negotiate a rate for non-exclusive non-commercial licence of the digital image, but expect it to cost a bit more as then he knows he won't make any money selling copies of prints to your relatives.

joemarshall