Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 84 total)
  • No-Cycling signs added to local woods
  • retro83
    Free Member

Just rode to my local woods to find that the fence/gates have been replaced and the new ones have no cycling signs up. 🙁

It’s a Woodland Trust woodland, has anybody had any experience with this?
    Is there any right to appeal or is it decided behind closed doors?

As far as I’m aware there are no jumps, berms etc built – it’s just a nice little wood with some paths through it and I’ve been riding there for approx 5 years unchallenged.

Bloody annoying for me as it’s one of the few local areas to ride with any inclines 😆

neilthewheel

Surprised at the WT doing this as they are usually relaxed (though not exactly encouraging) about bike access. Why not email them and ask what the problem is?

z1ppy

Ignore them, there close minded idiots.
    Woodland trust, of a wood I ride, put up 6ft fences & tall kissing gate entries to stop cyclist. All it did was to stop families with push chairs, the cycling still continues.

EDIT: I did email them and got a ‘were not interested in talking’ response

retro83
    Free Member

I will phone or email them, just wondered what to expect from them really. I haven’t heard about any hostility from walkers or horsey types so it’s a bit out of the blue.

jekkyl

is there any bridleways or boats through the land?
    if not you’re screwed.

Trimix
    Free Member

Your not screwed. Just continue to go riding there.

Dont worry about it, your not doing any harm.

tk46hal
    Free Member

Our local council did something similar with our local woods! Cyclists have been using it for decades but after their alterations with our money decided to stick no cycling signs up everywhere and turn it into a dog mess area instead. People still ride their bikes there and the signs are gone!

scu98rkr
    Free Member

Im a member I say you can ride through it.