Viewing 40 posts - 1 through 40 (of 90 total)
  • Nightmare teenage daughter
  • ThurmanMerman
    Free Member

Not mine, the GF’s.

Essentially, she’s absolutely horrid. The daughter, not the GF. 13 years old, self-centred, selfish, ungrateful, unhelpful, rude, foul-mouthed, arrogant, argumentative, antagonistic, demanding and violent. In and out of trouble at school, too. Usually for back-chatting teachers or fighting.

Apparently she was as good as gold until the hormones kicked-in.

I have no experience of this, I have nothing to bring to the discussion and obviously have no jurisdiction… But the GF is at the end of her tether. I think we are just after some reassurance that this really is “just a phase” and that she’s “at a difficult age”. Is there an end in sight?

Is she just a textbook teenage daughter who’s not had a useful father-figure around for most of her life?

Tell me she’ll grow out of it soon. Before she and I have a major falling-out. 😐

johnellison
    Free Member

Grit teeth. MTFU.

My mate’s daughter’s just started with this, same age – up until last year she was the model child. Now she’s just a little $h!t. She’ll grow out of it. When she’s about 16.

wwaswas

Is there an end in sight?

parents with older children tell me by the time they’re 23 it’s usually all settled down again.

My son is 16 and approaching gcse’s in the Spring. We’re taking the approach of ‘if we can just get him to do some revision we’ll put up with the attitude and language’. Tbh, he’s not going out and drinking etc just being an arse at home.

oliverd1981
    Free Member

I’d just buy some really good noise cancelling headphones or move out for a few years.

ThurmanMerman
    Free Member

It’s the bad language and name-calling directed at my GF that I find hardest to deal with. She swears like a docker. Never known anyone with such a bad attitude.

Trimix
    Free Member

Could be worse, she could be pregnant.

lazybike
    Free Member