Viewing 22 posts - 1 through 22 (of 22 total)
  • (nigh-on) joblesstrackworld member here- and some help please?
  • MrKmkII
    Free Member

Hi everyone,

I’m soon to be moving to Aberdeen, based on my partner getting an awesome job there. A rare opportunity which she could not turn down. Naturally I’ll be joining her (my current job is menial and casual, so need to get a better paying, more settled job anyway).

SO how do I go about finding a job up there? I’ve uploaded some CVs to websites, and got friendly with a few recruitment agencies. Tonight I’m going to send some speculative CVs to some potential employers.

I’m an environmental scientist, with experience in water and drainage modelling, but would like to do something in a consultancy if poss. Or anything! what does the hive mind of singletrack suggest?

Thanks muchly, Kieron.

project
    Free Member

environmental scientist, with experience in water and drainage modelling,

Plumber with imagination then

molgrips
    Free Member

There’s still the drainage in the lower field to work on.

br
    Free Member

I’m an environmental scientist, with experience in water and drainage modelling

Should have no problem then…

But what kinda job would actually suit you – interested really.

samuri
    Free Member

You’re applying to Scottish water, yes?

MrKmkII
    Free Member

Plumber with imagination then

Please! I prefer street plumber 😉

b r – I finished a masters last year which had elements of environmental ethics and econimics, anthropology and landscape studies. i really got into the landscape side of things, but visual/landscape assessment is not easy to get into without some kind of landscape architecture degree. I don’t know if I have a conversion-type course in me! so realistically, but still a bit ideally, it’d be good to do some kind of river modelling and surface flow stuff. although i’m not too fussy – i’d be pretty chuffed getting any consultancy work! 🙂

crush83
    Free Member

millitary.