• This topic has 3 replies, 3 voices, and was last updated 9 years ago by DanW.
Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • New xc/endurance pedals? (Time content)
  • michaelmcc
    Free Member

Looking to replace my Time pedals, after recently realizing that when I clip in, the engagement position can change as the cleats tend to move up and down the bars on the pedals (seems a bit naff, maybe the pedals have just past their day?).
    But if its just a Time thing, then I think I’ll switch to different pedals. Any recommendations? What are the cool kids using these days? I’ve been using Times for about 5 years so nothing too drastically different please!

Superficial
    Free Member

Non-Shimano clipless? How retro.

michaelmcc
    Free Member

Non-Shimano clipless? How retro.

Used to use Shim pedals back in the day, wasn’t a big fan of the total locked in feeling with not much float.

DanW
    Free Member

Used to use Shim pedals back in the day, wasn’t a big fan of the total locked in feeling with not much float.

This is a bit of a misconception about Shimano. If you loosen off the tension (not many pedals have adjustable tension) then you can get plenty of float. Granted some people have them done up far too tight making them a bit of a misery to use.

Time Attacs are functionally brilliant in all conditions but heavy, the cleats wear quickly and the bars wreck shoes.

Crank Brothers are attractive for their light weight but they got sloppy very quickly and had a pretty poor connection to the shoe. Lots of aftermarket spares and axles are nice if you did decide to go for Crank Brothers which means you can customise the Q-Factor but ultimately I was buying 2 or 3 pairs or pedals a year mainly from destroying the springs (axles and bearings also wore quickly but are cheaper to replace). Also the CB cleats needed changing frequently as they wear fast.